World Sports Racing Prototypes

The site dedicated to sportscar race results and chassis numbers histories is under construction.

1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1998 1999 Drivers Makes Teams USRRC (info)

United States Road Racing Championship

United States Road Racing Championship started in North America in 1963 and continued until 1968 when it was completely replaced by Can-Am.

In 1998 was established once again 'to make sports car racing in the United States more popular'. It was nothing else than a copy of IMSA/SPORTSCAR with one little exception: WSC cars were labelled by more famous name: Can-Am. The new USRRC in its inaugural season had five races including Daytona 24 Hours.

For 1999 season European ISRS rules were adopted so that cars eligible for ISRS could run without changes in the USRRC and vice versa. Agreement between USRRC and ISRS also included Trans-Atlantic Challenge, which included two races in USA where are invited six cars from ISRS and two races in Europe where are invited six cars from USRRC. In the end it did not happen and the USRCC ended up as a complete disaster. Apart from Daytona 24 Hour race the entries were very sparse and the season was closed after only three races. Since 2000 this series was replaced by more successful Grand-Am Championship that started with very similar rules and allowed big GT manufacturers win famous Daytona 24 Hours overall before a complete departure from internationally accepted rules and moving to an isolation.

USRRC GT Manufacturers Championship

From 1963 to 1965 USRRC organized also a separate championship for manufacturers, for which only contemporary GT cars were eligible. Some of the races were run concurrently with the main events, while other races were events of its own.

Results of GT races:

Presented by WSRP Martin Krejci.
Last update: 3.1.2007