World Sports Racing Prototypes

The site dedicated to sportscar race results and chassis numbers histories is under construction.

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 Drivers Teams FIA GT (info)

FIA GT Championship

FIA sanctioned GT Championship, which is the continuation of BPR series. Grand Touring cars are divided into two groups - GT1 and GT2. It was a very successful in its first season with many works teams entered including Mercedes, BMW (McLaren), Porsche and Chrysler. Races long usually 4 hours but for 1998 season were shortened to 500 kilometres.

In 1999 group GT1 was cancelled and GT2 cars became GT cars. Former GT1 cars were renamed to GT-prototypes and were eligible for new formed FIA International Prototype Cup where they should run together with open top prototypes. But because lack of entries (only Mercedes with perhaps four cars, DAMS Lola and Bscher BMW had interest to run regularly) FIA IPC was cancelled and in the FIA GT Championhip which was now only for GT2 cars Oreca Vipers had no opposition and won nine of ten races - the only other winner was private Chrysler Viper.

For season 2000 was introduced new group to run together with former GT2. Also for the first time all races are going to be held in Europe without any meetings in USA or Japan.

Presented by WSRP Martin Krejci.
Last update: 2.10.2005