World Sports Racing Prototypes

The site dedicated to sportscar race results and chassis numbers histories is under construction.

1970 1972 1975 1976 1979 1980 1981 1983 1984 1985 1986 1988 Drivers Australian Sports Car Championship (info)

Australian Sports Car Championship

The Australian Sports Car Championship was the CAMS sanctioned national championship. The first season of the championship took place in 1969. It continued without real brakes until 1988, though in 1975 the title was awarded based on results of only a single race and in the 1976-1981 period the championship was restricted for production based sports cars (Group D). It was the period when the World Championship also adopted production based rules. In 1982, when in Europe Group C took over, Australian CAMS returned the Sports Car championship for purpose-built sports cars while most of the former production cars now raced in newly constituted Australian GT Championship. Some of the raced for the Sports Car and GT Championship were contested together in a single events.

Presented by WSRP Martin Krejci.
Last update: 4.9.2009